A glimpse of Myanmar in Mumbai

I had a packed schedule last week, thanks to my near and dear ones deciding to drop by. Though I must admit that it’s always a joyous affair to have your close ones around, even though, along with it comes additional running of errands, hectic travel plans etc.

Since these folks visiting me were not very new to Mumbai, it was quiet a daunting task to think of new places to take them around, this time. I whacked my brains to come up with all possible combinations, but it was all shot down, one after the other.

For once, even Google and Facebook decided to abandon me of options!

Finally when I had almost given up and was on the verge of putting out a no brainer – it’s too hot outside so let’s stay in – my friend in a passing statement mentioned the possibility of a Pagoda somewhere near Bhayandar.

I must admit the first reaction to this chance revelation was a hearty laugh. Please don’t get me wrong here. My reasoning was on the grounds – where will one find space for a Pagoda in a place like Mumbai and its suburbs.

I WAS TOTALLY WRONG HERE BY SEVERAL MILES 😛

The Global Vipassana Pagoda (made on the lines of one of the famous Myanmar pagoda) was a delightful shocker. Situated hardly a kilometer away from Essel World, the pagoda IS a welcome relief in this chaotic city.

Though we all decided to hit the road, the other option to reach there, by a ferry still seems appealing to me, simply because of the boat ride.

Only the main or central pagoda is completed as yet. Smaller ones and allied facilities are under construction. Nevertheless, a must visit.

The center of the Global Vipassana Pagoda contains the world’s largest stone dome built without any supporting pillars. The height of the dome is approximately 29 metres.

Hope these pictures manage to convince you to add this place in your must visit destinations in the Mumbai site seeing list.

Now without blah blahing much let me show you some of the beautiful structures that I saw there.

Warning: Tha date stamp present on some of the pics are wrong

Pagoda entrance

Pagoda entrance

100_0496

100_0494

100_0488

100_0505

Ornate Ceiling

Ornate Ceiling

100_0521

100_0532

One of the smaller structures present on the either side of the main Pagoda

One of the smaller structures present on the either side of the main Pagoda

Design on one of the pillars

Design on one of the pillars

Center of attraction

Center of attraction

Buddha

Buddha

100_0520

A part of the Center hall, which can accommodate 8,000 people at a time

A part of the Center hall, which can accommodate 8,000 people at a time

Tip of the main structure which is a copy of the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon, Myanmar

Tip of the main structure which is a copy of the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon, Myanmar

100_0540

I loved the carvings on this door

I love the carvings on this door

Motif

Motif

100_0592

100_0593

Entrance ceiling

Entrance ceiling

100_0581

Leave a comment